The Inspector Rebus Series

Posted on Updated on

Many of you who know me personally know just how obsessed I am with Ian Rankin, and especially with Rebus.  Inspector Rebus spans 17 novels, a book of short stories, a British television series, and even features in a book entitled Rebus’s Scotland (you can even take a Rebus tour of Edinburgh).  I myself first read Let it Bleed, a book in the middle of the series, and yet I was hooked.

I find Rebus to be incredibly interesting as a character, and Rankin allows his reader to watch his character grow (or not grow), deepen, and become so real to us as readers.  His self-deprecating nature and gruff exterior only serve to mask the teddy bear of a man hiding within, making him a cracking good read.  Plus, given Rebus’s choice in music and pop culture references, he’s just plain cool.  He has fascinated his audience since his first appearance in 1987, and even with his conclusion, Rebus continues to draw in new readers.

In deference to my obsession, I have decided to have a special event of sorts.  Over the next few weeks, I plan to reread each of the seventeen novels, from Knots and Crosses to Exit Music, and post about them here.  If this series works out, I may plan other books to highlight like this.  But for now, I will go through each book, show how Rebus changes throughout the series, see how he progresses as a character, and just have fun with the types of cases that Rankin throws at his most popular character.  Some entries may be only a couple hundred words, others significantly longer.

While I go through the Rebus Series, I do plan to read and review other books, so if you are not a huge crime fiction fan, then never fear.

And in case you had not figured it out yet, Rankin is Scottish.  I did warn you I was a wee bit obsessed.


4 thoughts on “The Inspector Rebus Series

    Genre Fiction vs. Literary « Breathing Fiction said:
    September 6, 2011 at 9:13 PM

    […] that dealt so well with dysfunctional family dynamics and the brink of sanity.  Or Rankin’s Rebus series, which gives you a character so well shaped that thousands of people (perhaps more) tour his […]

    […] am sort of afraid that some people might think I’m a bit obsessed with Mina and with Rankin.  In my defense, they are well worth the obsession.  I swear, I do read other authors, but when a […]

    The Complaints – Ian Rankin « Breathing Fiction said:
    December 15, 2011 at 9:14 PM

    […] certainly has a different set of constraints to work in here.  With Rebus, it was almost easy to see why he would go off the rails a bit.  After all, Rebus had a sense of […]

    […] social status in modern crime fiction, with the majority of my studies derived from the novels of Ian Rankin and Denise Mina.  I plan on returning to school to complete my PhD, but life has delayed the […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s